Demon Slayer is now airing its third season, but for those planning to start from the beginning, the path to season 3 might be a bit difficult to navigate. The series has been popular since its release, and catching up can be a challenge.

If you’re feeling confused about the order of Demon Slayer episodes and movies, don’t worry, we’ve got you covered. Our guide will help you navigate through the series and its related films, so you can watch the anime in the correct order. We’ll also help you decide whether you should watch the Mugen Train and Swordsmith Village movies, and which episodes are skippable.

The Ultimate Guide to Watching Demon Slayer: TV Series and Movie Order

How to watch Demon Slayer in order

Demon Slayer has three seasons and two skippable movies. Here’s the order in which you should watch them.

The debut season premiered in 2019 and included a total of 26 episodes, which you should watch in their entirety.

The sequel to the first season is a film called Demon Slayer: Mugen Train. The movie was so successful that it was also adapted into a television arc to start season 2. This means you can either watch the movie or the television arc to continue the story.

The ‘Mugen Train‘ arc in the second season consists of seven episodes. After that, the ‘Entertainment District Arc‘ follows, which is entirely original content. Demon Slayer season 2 has a total of 18 episodes. The Mugen Train arc is seven episodes long and the Entertainment District arc consists of a further 11 episodes.

To make it easier to follow, our recommendation is to start with Demon Slayer season 1, then choose either the Mugen Train movie or the Mugen Train recap arc, and proceed to the Entertainment District arc.

The hit anime has another movie titled “Demon Slayer: To the Swordsmith Village“, which is made up of three episodes: episodes 10 and 11 of the Entertainment District arc, and the first episode of season 3, also known as the Swordsmith Village arc. So, the movie is skippable. Although, if you end up watching Season 3 after a while, you might want to watch the movie to get in the groove.

The Ultimate Guide to Watching Demon Slayer: TV Series and Movie Order

Demon Slayer Season 3 began airing on April 9, 2023. It is streaming on Crunchyroll in the US. The Season 3 English Dub release date has a disappointing update. The dub won’t be out for at least two months.

To summarise, here’s the order:

  • Demon Slayer season 1 (episodes 1-26)
  • Mugen Train movie or Demon Slayer: Mugen Train series arc (episodes 27-33). [It’s better to watch the TV arc]
  • Season 2, AKA the Entertainment District arc (episodes 34-44)
  • Demon Slayer To the Swordsmith Village movie (episodes 43-45[You may Skip]
  • Season 3, AKA the Swordsmith Village Arc (ongoing)

Which Demon Slayer Episodes to skip?

Effortlessly Binge Demon Slayer: TV Series and Movie in Order

Anime shows often contain filler episodes that exist to buy time until more source material is available, but that’s not the case here.

There are some slower episodes in the middle of the first season, but overall everything is worth watching. The only skippable content is the Mugen Train arc, which can be skipped if you’ve seen the Mugen Train movie.

For more from the world of Anime, How to Watch One Piece Movies in the Perfect Order? The Ultimate Guide 2023