Overview of Waco: The Aftermath

Waco: The Aftermath is a highly-anticipated miniseries that has caught the attention of true crime enthusiasts worldwide. The show is based on David Thibodeau’s book, A Place Called Waco: A Survivor’s Story, and aims to explore the aftermath of the tragic Waco Standoff at the Branch Davidian Compound. The series follows the lives of surviving members of the Branch Davidians during their trial and the far-reaching consequences of David Koresh and his followers.

Series Synopsis

The first part of the series focuses on the armed conflict at the Branch Davidian Compound in Waco, Texas. In Waco: The Aftermath, the focus shifts to the legal proceedings of David Koresh and his followers, manhunts, and the aftermath of their actions. The series will explore the institutions that failed the victims, the rise of religious extremism, cult radicalization, and their leader and self-proclaimed savior, David Koresh. The crisis caused by the aftermath of the Waco incidents garnered massive media attention.

The show features a talented cast that includes Michael Shannon as Gary Noesner, an FBI hostage negotiator, John Leguizamo as Jacob Vasquez, an undercover AFT agent; and David Costabile as Judge Smith, the overseer of the Branch Davidians trial.

Streaming Guide

Waco: The Aftermath consists of five episodes, and the first one is set to premiere on April 16, 2023, on Showtime, which is the home of the Showtime original series. A new episode will be available every Sunday at 10 P.M. [ET].

Core Cast

The miniseries boasts an impressive and star-studded cast, including the following:

  • Michael Shannon as Gary Noesner
  • John Leguizamo as Jacob Vasquez
  • David Costabile as Judge Smith
  • J.Smith Cameron as Lois Roden
  • Giovanni Ribsi as Dan Cogdell
  • John Hoogenakker as Clive Doyle
  • Keean Johnson as Vernon Howell
  • Abbey Lee as Carol Howe
  • Shea Whigham as Mitch Decker
  • Annika Marks as Kathy Schroeder
  • Alex Breaux as Timothy McVeigh
  • Gary Cole as Gordon Novel


What is Waco: The Aftermath?

Waco: The Aftermath is an upcoming miniseries available exclusively on Showtime. The series is based on the book A Place Called Waco: A Survivor’s Story by David Thibodeau and explores the aftermath of the Waco Standoff at the Branch Davidian Compound.

When will Waco: The Aftermath be released?

Waco: The Aftermath is set to premiere on April 16, 2023, and will run for five episodes.

Where can I watch Waco: The Aftermath?

You can watch Waco: The Aftermath on Showtime every Sunday at 10 P.M. [ET].

Who stars in Waco: The Aftermath?

The miniseries stars Michael Shannon, John Leguizamo, David Costabile, J.Smith Cameron, Giovanni Ribsi, John Hoogenakker, Keean Johnson, Abbey Lee, Shea Whigham, Annika Marks, Alex Breaux, and Gary Cole.